Thread: How To Install Detours Tailbone!

Default How To Install Detours Tailbone!

This "How To" Article is for those of you who Bought the Detours Tailbone Rear Tire Carrier. Mine didn't come with instructions,.. so I just winged it when I did my install. If there's was anything I came across that I was confused about I just checked Detours Web site for reference. He has the instructions listed there.

Tools you will need are just your basic hand tools and some sort of cut off wheel, Saw Zall, or what ever it is you normally use to cut metal. YOU WILL HAVE TO CUT YOUR FACTORY REAR BUMPER SKIN! Now Onto the install.

Well I picked up my Detours Tailbone on Thursday evening. This is what it looked like after unpacking it, and making sure everything was there.

I started painting the kit Friday evening when I got home from work.

Then finished painting Saturday morning.

Figured while I was waiting for it to dry I could start pulling off my factory bumper and brackets. By that time everything was dry enough to handle so I started the install.

And this is the back brace that the front main structure bolts to. It sandwiches the rear cross member between the two pieces.

Then I took measurements so I could start trimming my factory bumper skin to fit over the D Ring Mounts.* Now these next few pictures are compliments from Detours instructions page. I forgot to stop and take pictures during this procedure.*

Then I drilled the holes needed and installed the outside brackets to sandwich the bumper skin between the subframe and the outer mounts.*These pics are also compliments of Detours instructions page.*

Then I installed the tire carrier onto the spindle and adjusted my latch accordingly. Then installed my 33x12.50 spare onto my new Detours Tailbone Tire Carrier.