Thread: Full spring pack vs. Shackles

Default Full spring pack vs. Shackles

I noticed that when I go to purchase Rusty's 4.5" lift kit with the 4.5" rear leaf pack (not AAL), they give you the option of going either a full 4.5" spring, or a 3" spring with 1.5" shackles.
    Why is it that the 3" spring - 1.5" shackle combination is more expensive than the 4.5" full leaf spring? It seems to me it should be the other way around, but then again, I'm new to this.
    Is there an advantage to having the shackle set-up?

Thanks.

Default Re: Full spring pack vs. Shackles

Generally get more flex with the 3" spring and 1.5" shackle. But nothing wrong with the 4.5" pack, if its cheaper go that way.
    01 XJ /4" lift /33" DC Muds
    / M/T Sidebiters/ Surco / Hi-lift /Pilot Navigator lights / Bad Apple Fab diff gaurds / Midland/ Wilson / Front and rear receiver hitches / Rusty's LCA's / Magnaflow / AEM Intake / TB spacer / Jet Stage 1 / Pioneeer & Fusion Sound / AJ's Super rails / Warn Skid / BW Flat Flares/ Bedlined Rockers and Quarters / Big Daddy Tie Rod / Rustys Steering Brace

Is one or the other more likely to sag more, in the long run?

Shackles tend to wear springs faster because of the added flex
    01 XJ /4" lift /33" DC Muds
    / M/T Sidebiters/ Surco / Hi-lift /Pilot Navigator lights / Bad Apple Fab diff gaurds / Midland/ Wilson / Front and rear receiver hitches / Rusty's LCA's / Magnaflow / AEM Intake / TB spacer / Jet Stage 1 / Pioneeer & Fusion Sound / AJ's Super rails / Warn Skid / BW Flat Flares/ Bedlined Rockers and Quarters / Big Daddy Tie Rod / Rustys Steering Brace

If your rig is a dedicated trail rig then go for the shackles, but if it is a DD them go for the packs. That's my opinion, others may vary.
    Hey bubba get your hand off my ass,

Some days it is just not worth it to gnaw through the leather restraints.

R.I.P. Brian 96_XJ Perrine 1990-2011