Thread: Deer Hunting in Texas

Default Deer Hunting in Texas

I've always enjoyed hunting but frankly I only ever did it as a kid. I never could afford a decent rifle must less paying for a lease.

For several years now I have wanted a Remington 700 .308 rifle, and recently purchased one. One of the other things I have really enjoyed in the past is accurate shooting at targets far away hence the wish for an accurate yet affordable rifle.

I would like to take my new rifle out deer hunting, I doubt this year, but like most things it's fun to make modifications. I have been looking at scopes, stocks, detachable clips, etc...

I am concerned that in my "fun" modifying my rifle I may make it ineligible to be used as a deer hunting rifle in Texas.

I'm a real noob when it comes to any of this so ANY information you'd like to share about deer hunting will be great, especially about deer leases, best areas to hunt, in Texas.

Default Re: Deer Hunting in Texas

I suggest you start by contacting your local wildlife management agency and read the proclamation for hunting. We find these booklet everywhere they sell licences in Utah, maybe it is the same for you.
    They tell you what weapon is legal and all other rules pertaining to deer hunting.

and in Utah we need to pass an hunter education certificate (aka blue card). You may need one as well.
    "if yer not larnin sumptin new everday, check yer pulse."

Tony

I had a Browning .270 I used to use. The mods I made were simple. I retained the factory sights, which on the end of the barrel had a hood over it. It made a nice border around the target and kind of separated it from the rest of the field. Sighted in at 50 yards. Then I added a 3X scope on swing away mounts sighted in at 150 yards, which was the longest shot I expected to make in the OR rainforest.
    230 hp 4.3L Chevy
    Built 4L60E with manual lockout
    Atlas 4 speed
    Griffin radiator
    On board air
    Warn 9.5ti on custom bumper