Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Remington 700

Chats

Default Remington 700

Well I guess a rifle would be considered tech, albeit low tech.

So do we have any knowledgeable Remington 700 folks out there? I've been wanting one for years and finally picked one up this past week.

I knew you could spend a LOT on a scope, but little did I know what a lot was. I thought 350 was a lot for a scope, yes I know I'm a noob.

I think I have a good base, Remington 700 Varmint, bull barrel, .308.

I was going to change the stock, but holly crap all the ones I like are 700, one was 850 and I couldn't tell if it helped, or hurt the overall accuracy of the gun!

I can get a nice locker for 850, yes I know but I can't pop zombie heads at 1,000 meters with a locker.

The purpose of the gun is just fun to shoot, and I would like to use it to deer hunt on occasion.

Maybe I should concentrate on a decent stock and a moderate scope. I doubt any deer kills would be longer than 200 yards. Maybe we have some deer hunters on here that can clue me in.

Chats

Default Re: Remington 700

This is one that caught my eye...

MDT TAC-21

Here is the actual TAC-21, the butt and the pistol grip are standard AR-15...

Chats

I have a Rem 700 in 30;06 with a composite stock and a Leopold (sp) 3x9 scope. Longest shot that took a deer was 120 yds.
    Hey bubba get your hand off my ass,

Some days it is just not worth it to gnaw through the leather restraints.

R.I.P. Brian 96_XJ Perrine 1990-2011

Chats

I carried around a bull barreled .243 deer hunting when I was in the service. It was tough back then! My last deer rifle was a Ruger M77-UL, in .308. It kicked real good, but on the bright side it weighed 6-1/4 pounds. Carried real nice.