Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Oceanside Ca
    Posts
    4
    Chats
    0

    Default Crank Position Sensor

    An important part but hard to reach


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    327
    Chats
    1020

    Default Re: Crank Position Sensor

    That is the one part I would recommend everyone carry at least one spare of everywhere you go! I had to replace mine twice... and its not even registered yet!!
    Good job on the pic too!
    Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to MUD in the rain!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Asheville, NC
    Posts
    7,960
    Chats
    39048

    Default Re: Crank Position Sensor

    I wish it wasn't so important... since it is such a PITA to reach.. had to have mine replaced... and am not looking forward to that again if I can help it..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South TEXAS
    Posts
    7,244
    Chats
    3

    Default Re: Crank Position Sensor

    Just because molinari shows you a picture of the tranny pulled, does not mean you have to do that to replace one of those. It can be replaced with the engine and tranny in place but it is not a chore I want to do every day.
    Once you get the original out you can restart the two bolts into their original holes and then slot the attaching holes on the new one and it can then slide over the bolts when re-installing it.
    That maneuver makes trail replacement much easier if it needs future replacement. You can then just loosen the bolts and slip the old one off and unplug it, allowing you a quicker job on the trail.
    Hope this is understandable to all who have lain under their Jeep at 2 in the morning to get the Jeep home. It will be a modification you will thank yourself for doing.
    Hey bubba get your hand off my ass,

    Some days it is just not worth it to gnaw through the leather restraints.

    R.I.P. Brian 96_XJ Perrine 1990-2011

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    282
    Chats
    7

    Default Re: Crank Position Sensor

    I'll have to remember that the next time mine goes out. I've found dropping the front driveline and a really long extension helps a bit. Though I would hate to have to do it on a trail.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Oceanside Ca
    Posts
    4
    Chats
    0

    Default Re: Crank Position Sensor

    Believe me that is not why the motor was pulled, nor why i even took the picture but i've used it like 6 times when trying to explain where it is to friends so I put it up here, hope it helps!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Caney, TX
    Posts
    3,582
    Chats
    22489

    Default Re: Crank Position Sensor

    It is also much easier to do if you already have a tcase drop installed.

Similar Threads

  1. From 1 crank to 2, and sometimes 3
    By Mudderoy in forum OEM/Factory
    Replies: 108
    Last Post: 10-29-2011, 01:08 AM
  2. O2 sensor
    By buckeyecam1 in forum Modified
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-02-2010, 11:58 AM
  3. I need a map sensor for a 93
    By finneys98xj in forum Wanted! (To buy)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-22-2009, 06:27 AM
  4. O2 sensor help
    By TeXJ in forum OEM/Factory
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-19-2009, 09:23 AM
  5. First start requires more crank time.
    By Mudderoy in forum General Talk
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-21-2009, 11:25 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •