Thread: 2.5L 85 - start problems, exhaust leak, carburetor?

Default 2.5L 85 - start problems, exhaust leak, carburetor?

Hey so let me start by saying I'm a complete newbie. I just bought my first car a few months ago and I've replaced the clutch master cylinder and water pump so far, but I'm still learning what most of the stuff in my car is and how it all works.
    It is a 1985 2.5L 4-cylinder manual Jeep Cherokee.

Anyways for a little while it took about 2-3 times to start the car, and I'd have to give some gas to get going. It started getting worse after a while and it would take 4, 5 times to get started. I thought this might be a carburetor adjustment issue and tried to figure it out with my manual, but couldn't figure it out.

A week ago or so it got really bad, especially if I didn't give it a ton of gas after starting, it would stall right out. Then it was even harder to start the car (maybe the carb was flooded). There was a time when it took like 10 times to start it up.
    I still kept driving it, and soon a nasty thumping noise started, which a friend told me was very likely an exhaust leak. It only makes that noise when I have my foot on the gas.
    I've read in a few places that it isn't recommended to do an exhaust manifold leak repair yourself, because often the bolts will break off when you try to remove them. Any comments about that? Is this a tricky fix?

I had a hard time starting it one morning, drove a couple minutes and stopped to get gas. After that, it turned on and rolled for a couple feet, then stalled out and would not start no matter what I did. I pushed it into a parking spot and left to go mountain biking for a few hours, and then it started just fine when i returned, with a heavy foot on the gas pedal. It squealed super bad though, as it has been when I start it and jam on the gas. I haven't tried to drive it since then.