PDA

View Full Version : starter issues?

xjbarney98
07-14-2009, 10:58 PM
Hey XJ-ers,

I'm in need of some serious assistance asap. Mudderoy helped me out on Yahoo! answers with some really helpful information. However, I feel it was slightly too technical for me.

I need to change my starter, and I'm a DIY noob when it comes to automotive repair in general. I've had my XJ for about a year now and love it, but I've just now realized that I need to hang on to my old girl for quite a while, so I'm interested in learning about making repairs on my own.

Anyway, I need to get my XJ rolling soon. I'm already tired of bumming rides of family/friends/co-workers and its only day 2 of no Jeep.

My starter (i believe) is the issue. When I turn the ignition, I get absolutely no response from the engine. My gauges and radio turn on, my lights and blinkers are totally functional. But no response from under the hood.

I've located the starter and removed one bolt from it, but, according to mudderoy, I'm a bit ahead of myself.

If someone could help me out with a diagram or more detailed repair descriptions, it would be greatly appreciated. What is the idler pulley? How do i disconnect the power and control lines, and where are they located?

Anything you guys can do would be great.

Thanks!

Melissa
07-14-2009, 11:12 PM
Are you sure that it's the starter?, I might confuse you, but mine does exactly what you described, but in my case it's my neutral safety switch. I can get mine to start in neutral, have you tried that?

Just a thought, I'm a rank beginner as a want to be mech

Mudderoy
07-14-2009, 11:18 PM
Are you sure that it's the starter?, I might confuse you, but mine does exactly what you described, but in my case it's my neutral safety switch. I can get mine to start in neutral, have you tried that?

Just a thought, I'm a rank beginner as a want to be mech