PDA

View Full Version : Gauge cluster not working

97XJ Jeeper
06-11-2009, 09:22 PM
1997 XJ full gauge cluster (speedo, tach, ect.....)
I am not good at reading electrical diagrams so does anybody know where the ground is for the guage cluster is. Everything works except gauges and warning lights. I thinks it's a bad ground, anybody else had this problem? Thanks for any help!

Jeepster19
06-11-2009, 09:34 PM
My 98xj has done it several time,in fact twice today.There is a technical service bullitin out,I'm sure it covers several years.The solution to the problem is to remove the guage cluster and clean the contact points where the harness plugs into the back of it.For some reason both the connector and contact point on back of the cluster get corrosion.Cleaning the usually takes care of the problem.I am going to do mine this weekend when I change my evaporator core.I"ll let you know what happens.:thumbsup:

Mudderoy
06-12-2009, 12:17 AM
Mine go out when it is really cold out. I just bang on the dash and it comes back on. :smiley-laughing021:

97XJ Jeeper
06-12-2009, 11:18 AM
My 98xj has done it several time,in fact twice today.There is a technical service bullitin out,I'm sure it covers several years.The solution to the problem is to remove the guage cluster and clean the contact points where the harness plugs into the back of it.For some reason both the connector and contact point on back of the cluster get corrosion.Cleaning the usually takes care of the problem.I am going to do mine this weekend when I change my evaporator core.I"ll let you know what happens.:thumbsup:

That was the first thing I tried, the only thing I haven't tried is the ground.

97XJ Jeeper
06-12-2009, 11:22 AM
Mine go out when it is really cold out. I just bang on the dash and it comes back on. :smiley-laughing021:
I have tried that alot.:D

97XJ Jeeper
06-15-2009, 07:37 PM