PDA

View Full Version : what oil to run?

greenchevy
05-21-2009, 02:56 AM
I just got done rebuilding my 89 jeep wagoneer limited with a 4.0. Changed out the main bearings, rod bearings, piston rings, new cylinder head,oil pan gasket,manifold gasket, and valve cover gasket. Wondering what oil and weight i should run in it?

Mudderoy
05-21-2009, 03:09 AM
I used Penzoil straight 30 for 11(?) years. I just switched to synthetic Mobile 1.

Personally I'd do the synthetic.

I need to do some more reading to see exactly which one I am going to stay with.

greenchevy
05-21-2009, 03:12 AM
i wanted to start to run synthetic but wasn't sure. I think i will but what a good synthetic brand. i ran Mobil 1 for a year in the jeep before the rebuild with no leaks. probably will run Mobil again.

Mudderoy
05-21-2009, 03:18 AM
I have very little experience with the syntethics. I just moved to it last oil change. I want to run Amsoil, but looks like the only way to get it is online.

bwebb
05-21-2009, 08:51 AM
I think your supposed to break an engine in on regular oil then switch to synthetic..
might want to check on that

Voldemort
05-21-2009, 10:22 AM
Man I'm still scared of starting the synthetic with over 100,000 miles I think I'm sticking with my Valvoline and Lucas Additive.

whowey
05-21-2009, 07:48 PM
For the break-in period run something dino with LOTS of Zinc and Phosphorous. Crane Cams offers an EXCELLENT product called break-in lube. Add that to your oil for the entire break-in period.

Once you get through it.. Feel free to switch a synthetic. But make sure that it contains at least 1000 ppm of Zinc and Phosphorous. The only Mobil 1 product left with that much is the Hi-Mileage 10w30 and 10w40. Look at the back of the bottle... if it say API-SM.. put it back on the shelf. You need API-SL or older to get your correct protection.

Voldemort
05-21-2009, 09:24 PM