PDA

View Full Version : To SYE or not to SYE that is the question?

Audio222
04-26-2009, 08:31 PM
Okay the wife has given her okay on a SYE kit. This is what has been recommended to me. I will use a front drive shaft from a XJ for the rear. Can anyone think of anything good or bad about this setup? Thanks for the help. :driving:

http://www.performanceoffroadcenter.com/oscommerce/product_info.php?products_id=153

Any help or information would be appreciated.

Mudderoy
04-26-2009, 09:11 PM
I'm going with Tom Woods.

Does the one you are looking at require a new drive shaft?

I have a NP242J so I've only checked into SYE for it.

firehawk
04-26-2009, 09:30 PM
Unless your a HARDCORE rock crawler, the RE H&T is hard to beat. I've been running it and a front DS for 2+ years now with zero problems.

Just my .02.:)

BTW, if your going with the H&T, Tom Woods will NOT sell you a DS for it.

2000XJ
04-26-2009, 11:27 PM
Another vote for the HnT. I've been using it with a front XJ Driveshaft with great results. I have $175 (including shipping) into my SYE setup including the HnT, Driveshaft, and Spicer adapter.

The XJ driveshaft is a great way to go because then you can carry one spare driveshaft knowing that it will work in either the front or the back. On that note, even if you don't carry a spare driveshaft and break a rear shaft, you can always move the front shaft to the rear to drive home. This setup is pretty stout, and the front XJ shafts do just fine in the rear, so I have no doubt that you'd break one, but I tend to always be over-prepared.

Audio222
04-26-2009, 11:37 PM
Another vote for the HnT. I've been using it with a front XJ Driveshaft with great results. I have $175 (including shipping) into my SYE setup including the HnT, Driveshaft, and Spicer adapter.