PDA

View Full Version : Replacing rear carrier bearings, need help

thumperxj
12-17-2009, 11:57 AM
I have a 95 Cherokee Sport 4.0 XJ with lots of miles, around 230,000. I'm a newbie with this Jeep but I love it and want to keep it. It's a 5-speed and the engine runs great. My friend is a mechanic and has a shop. I can sometimes use his lift for a day or so for free. The only catch is if he's got a lot of work, I have to move the Jeep out of the way ASAP. I don't like to do big jobs at his shop in fear I may take too long. I can always pay him to do work but since I'm not working at the moment, every nickel helps.

My mechanic told me that due to play in the right rear axle (passenger side)that the right rear inner axle bearing needs to be replaced (he clarified not the outer wheel bearings). I think they are pressed into the rear diff? The thought of removing the rear differential is a little daunting. My rear drums are also in dire need of replacement (I am plenty capable of doing that myself).

My concern is getting in over my head with the bearings. I think they need to be pressed in. How difficult is dropping out the rear diff in comparison to replacing a subframe, timing belt or steering rack (jobs which I have done on a BMW)? Do I have to keep the axles attached to the pumpkin or will I be axle to slide them out without dropping them to the ground? If I need to roll the Jeep out of the bay, can it be done with the differential out? Are there any other things I should replace while "I'm in there"? What other things need I be aware when undertaking this job? Any help would be appreciated. I look forward to any questions you guys may have for me.

Mudderoy
12-17-2009, 12:06 PM