PDA

View Full Version : FAA rule to register drones struck down

OrangeXJ
05-20-2017, 08:00 AM
A federal appeals court has struck down FAA's rule requiring drones to be registered because "the FAA does not have the authority to regulate model aircraft" The FAA has not said if they will appeal the decision. Yea lets waste more tax money.

Charlie Foxtrot
05-20-2017, 10:32 AM
full disclosure: I am a pilot. In my spare time I co-manage & maintain a public use, privately owned airport. I am a drone enthusiast. I love RC aircraft. So I have bias. I am also a government employee, so I have an understanding of how the typical government bureaucrat works. (Another bias on the table.) I have experience flying around RC & drones. (More bias rears it's ugly head.)

1-Drones are fun, and look like they will be of tremendous value in the commercial world.
2-Chaos in airspace does no one any good. In fact it will do harm.
3-You can't see drones from the cockpit of a small plane traveling 60kts (that's slow, think piper cub) until it's too late to avoid it. Therefore an aircraft that is really moving along (think biz jet -250 to 300kts, airliner - 460kts) can't see one until impact.
4-Very large RC aircraft (think 6+ feet long) can be seen from the cockpit, but it is extremely difficult to recognize that they are RC, and therefore difficult to determine speed & distance, and thus avoid them.
5-An impact with a drone can knock a plane out of the sky (think bird strike), and have fatal consequences.
6-Most airspace is unregulated, and therefore 'uncontrolled'. (No ATC looking out for other aircraft & routing planes accordingly.)

I am not a fan of the FAA, but somebody has to determine the 'rules of the road'. The aviation community in large part has embraced drones. I suggest that with a little training and using common sense, drone operators & general aviation can co-exist. (Be on the look out for many more court cases until this is settled law.)

OrangeXJ
05-20-2017, 07:23 PM