PDA

View Full Version : 4x4 conversion

Diezel501
12-12-2016, 12:20 AM
Gentlemen, and ladies...
I am converting my 99 Limited XJ to a 4X4 so, I have a blank canvas. I am new to custom work, but capable. The major job is converting to a 4X4...
So, What axles, housings, front dif/ rear dif, transmission would you choose if you could? I want a daily driver, not an off road only. I want to drive to where I camp, possibly out of state. I definitely want an OX Locker for the rear for sure. durability is key. As my old boss would say during a sale "I'll start with the Eddie Bauer addition, then we'll peel back the layers you don't need".:xj-red:

4.3LXJ
12-12-2016, 09:31 AM
Welcome Sean. This isn't really hard, just time consuming. The best thing to do is find a good pick and pull and pull the parts you need. You will need to change the transmission over to the 4WD version. Same tranny, just different tail housing and shaft. But be sure to get the same year if possible, but for sure 97+. Transfer case of your choice, either NP231 or NP242 with linkage depending on if you want full time 4WD or not. Front and rear drivelines, and a high pinion non front disconnect D30 axle. Make sure the ratio matches what you have now

prerunner1982
12-12-2016, 09:51 AM
If you are wanting a mild build for a reliable DD I would say find a front Dana 30 from a 97-99 XJ. If you are going bigger tires you are probably going to regear anyways. For the rear axle if you have the Chrysler 8.25 you would be fine sticking with that, however a popular swap is the Ford 8.8 as it can be had with lower gears (4.10 typically I think), rear disk, and sometimes a limited slip but not a direct bolt in swap. If you have a rear Dana 35... find a Chrysler 8.25 or ford 8.8.