PDA

View Full Version : Yea.......it's new-

DETOURS
11-28-2009, 01:29 PM
and you're seeing it here first...........

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c242/Detoursusa/100_6723bridge_enforce_xj.jpg

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c242/Detoursusa/100_6724bridge_enforce_xj.jpg

Something I've been attempting to get at for 3 years now, finally made the time..........Front Eye to Frame Bracket reinforcement/repair. Our XJ's were never intended to be used, lifted, modified and abuised as they are today. When one takes the time to study this area, they'll find it's very inadequate for anything more than street use.

More later........... :thumbsup:

muddeprived
11-28-2009, 02:48 PM
Took me a couple seconds to figure out wtf that was but now I think I got it. :smiley-laughing021:

i didn't realize that was a weak spot. I'm gonna check out mine for 7" cracks and rust holes....

So it's a weld/bolt-on application?

DETOURS
11-28-2009, 05:26 PM
Application is strickly 'weld-in', and a 110 welder will do the job.

While more prevalent in snow belt states for rust, the design itself is pretty weak for anything more than street use, as stated......it lends itself to fatigue over time and this is proven by the nut used to secure the leal spring which many times fail when attempting to install a lift, it's not only rust which helps the connection fail, it's a rocking motion within the area as it ages, the rocking motion weakins the spot welds retaining the internal suspension nut.

Consider this, a YJ.....which also runs leaf springs uses an 11 gauge box frame to support it's '7' gauge spring bracketry in the same area.

Our XJ's use this:
http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c242/Detoursusa/100_6733sml.jpg

The only additional support is provided by your rear seat divider under your back seat, it runs the full width of the vehical and is formed from 18 gauge steel.......not much of a gusset.