PDA

View Full Version : CB Weather stations??

roberthleeii
12-16-2015, 08:51 AM
I am looking at CBs trying to decide what I want/need to get if I want to start going out and running trails around and I keep coming across NOAA weather and emergency stations on some of the CBs. Being a complete newbie to this I have no idea what this is. Can someone help explain this to me?

xj-jake
12-16-2015, 08:55 AM
Weather stations on CB's are a recorded loop of the weather in the local area that are put on the air by the national weather service. They're not something that's needed but it is kind of nice to have. Say you are going out on the trails and see some sinister looking clouds coming, you can switch to the NOAA weather channel and see if it's just clouds or if you need to cut your day short and head home. I have them built into the radio on my motorcycle and they are very nice to have on the scooter.

prerunner1982
12-16-2015, 12:44 PM
Jake you know you can tune them in on your Ham radio too right?

roberthleeii
12-16-2015, 01:06 PM
Weather stations on CB's are a recorded loop of the weather in the local area that are put on the air by the national weather service. They're not something that's needed but it is kind of nice to have. Say you are going out on the trails and see some sinister looking clouds coming, you can switch to the NOAA weather channel and see if it's just clouds or if you need to cut your day short and head home. I have them built into the radio on my motorcycle and they are very nice to have on the scooter.

Thanks that actually seems very useful. with the weather apps on the phone when I am driving I hate to start to read all the weather. it would be nice just to tune in and listen to the local weather.