PDA

View Full Version : Gear Shift handle change

Indiana Jeep
11-11-2009, 04:25 PM
This is probably a dumb question but thought I would ask before I started playing around with it. I really like the look of the Rock knobs on ROCKKNOB.com. My XJ is a 99 automatic and they do not make anything for this Jeep. I was hoping to find a way to replace the side button with just a push down on the shifter knob to change the gears. Obviously I don't know what the internal structure of the shifter is like and wanted to check and see if anyone else had thought about this or knew what it would take to change it over. Thinking about taking one apart at a salvage yard when I have the time to see whats what underneath. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.:driving:

Mudderoy
11-11-2009, 09:25 PM
This is probably a dumb question but thought I would ask before I started playing around with it. I really like the look of the Rock knobs on ROCKKNOB.com. My XJ is a 99 automatic and they do not make anything for this Jeep. I was hoping to find a way to replace the side button with just a push down on the shifter knob to change the gears. Obviously I don't know what the internal structure of the shifter is like and wanted to check and see if anyone else had thought about this or knew what it would take to change it over. Thinking about taking one apart at a salvage yard when I have the time to see whats what underneath. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.:driving:

I'm no help at all on this, but I'd like to know also.

BlueXJ
11-12-2009, 07:51 AM
To my knowledge they are limited to manual trannies!!!

Rednecktimbo
12-06-2009, 01:36 AM