PDA

View Full Version : Smitty Built Winch - $350 10K winch What am I getting into

TheWeiss
11-04-2009, 11:00 AM
So if anyone has been watching Quadratec they've got the typically cheaper (now super cheap) Smittbuilt XRC winches on sales. Currently, they've got a 10,000 pound winch on sales for $350 and an 8,000 pound winch for $285 I'm a big believer in "you get what you pay for" and I am by no means an expert on winches.

What am I getting myself into with these winches? What am I giving up for the price and how much should I care?

Mudderoy
11-04-2009, 11:13 AM
So if anyone has been watching Quadratec they've got the typically cheaper (now super cheap) Smittbuilt XRC winches on sales. Currently, they've got a 10,000 pound winch on sales for $350 and an 8,000 pound winch for $285 I'm a big believer in "you get what you pay for" and I am by no means an expert on winches.

What am I getting myself into with these winches? What am I giving up for the price and how much should I care?

Chances are good that when I go to use my winch it's going to be important. I don't want it to fail. I would like to have the Warn winch simply because of the quality, but from independent field tests Superwinch is nearly as good as the Warn and it's 1/2 the price. Plus someone I trust recommend them. So would I go with the Smittybuilt, no, not for my situation.

4.3LXJ
11-04-2009, 11:22 AM
One thing that is important to me is line speed. I didn't think it would be an issue until I used my Mile Marker a few times. I set up at the top of a hill at Goat Mountain in OR and was winching my buddies up. It took forever. Then one of the guys used his own and got up in less than a third of the time. Then I had to respool the line, like I always do to preserve the cable, and that took a lot of time also. I just don't have those issues any more. If anything, the Warn spools too fast for respooling.

xj4life2
11-04-2009, 12:10 PM