PDA

View Full Version : Shifting into 4LO

Hopkins
04-11-2014, 12:10 PM
So the manual says to slow to 2-3 mph and while coasting shift transmission into neutral, then shift the transfer case into 4LO all while still coasting. This process seems completely impractical especially when the Jeep is on uneven terrain. That being said, what is the real world process of shifting into 4LO? What is a safe speed to shift at? Can you shift while stopped? What if your wheeling in 4HI and become stuck, is there no way to get into 4LO if your already stuck?

I'm trying to figure this out before I go wheeling so that I don't damage my transfer case. All my rigs before this have been electronic push button transfer cases, so I have no experience with the shift lever, and do's/do not's with shifting. Hope someone with some experience can chime in!

JeepFreak
04-11-2014, 12:16 PM
Unfortunately, you have to be at 2-3 mph to shift into 4LO. My step mom was a transmission service advisor who worked over 30 techs for over 30 years. You can't do it while stopped. Besides that, 4LO is usually for towing and at speeds of 35 mph or LESS. If you're wheeling, you should be doing it constantly in 4HI since that allows you to go over 35 MPH AND be able to give short bursts of the gas if you're stuck. But we're Jeepers, we don't get stuck. We just...get comfortable where we are currently at :D

JeepFreak
04-11-2014, 12:17 PM
A side note though: the 'Neutral' they mean is the transfer case NOT the main shifter. You go from 2HI to N to 4LO.

4.3LXJ
04-11-2014, 01:20 PM
If you are in a jam, put the tranny in neutral, turn the engine off and allow it to roll a few feet forward or backwards, whatever you can manage and it will slip right in

Hopkins
04-11-2014, 07:02 PM