PDA

View Full Version : My heat is luke warm at best.

Nicksdsm
10-02-2009, 08:49 PM
It's getting colder in the morning. When using the heat at idle and the engine fully warm, the heat is only luke warm at best. The heat gets warmer when driving at higher RPM's but it's not as warm as it should be and it just cools down when the RPM's drop. I just flushed out the coolant and changed the thermostat. I had my shop perform a pressure test and there was no leak. I've been smelling coolant since I bought my XJ (8 months ago). I though I might have a bad Heater core but I'm not sure. The temp gauge read normal all the time and does not drop or go higher them haft way. Does anyone have any ideas?

Mudderoy
10-02-2009, 10:22 PM
It's getting colder in the morning. When using the heat at idle and the engine fully warm, the heat is only luke warm at best. The heat gets warmer when driving at higher RPM's but it's not as warm as it should be and it just cools down when the RPM's drop. I just flushed out the coolant and changed the thermostat. I had my shop perform a pressure test and there was no leak. I've been smelling coolant since I bought my XJ (8 months ago). I though I might have a bad Heater core but I'm not sure. The temp gauge read normal all the time and does not drop or go higher them haft way. Does anyone have any ideas?

I bet it's the heater core.

Voldemort
10-02-2009, 11:25 PM
I bet it's the heater core.

May be a clog also.

TXstiGUY
10-03-2009, 11:21 PM
are you running a stock 195 thermostat or did switch to a 180 in the winter you want to run the 195 it makes a huge difference in heater output, at least it did on mine "thats the safety answer" :thumbsup:

Nicksdsm
10-04-2009, 12:33 PM
I replaced it with stock replacement 195 degree thermostat.

MrJCRod
10-04-2009, 07:51 PM