PDA

View Full Version : Cup Holder

Spike3
01-23-2014, 07:21 PM
This isn't exactly a typical fabrication post because it deals with 3D printers, but here it goes.
I'm studying to get my mechanical engineering degree and at my university I get free access to the university's 3D printers. As a task to figure out SolidWorks while making something practical that I can actually appreciate, I figured I'd start with designing a cup holder. I modelled it after one that was likely bought on eBay but made the cup holder part larger to accommodate larger cups (I'm pretty sure this thing will take large theatre cups) because I like a lot of caffeine.
I just got the completed part today and it doesn't quite fit yet. The one I had printed had "hooks" that were 5/8" wide, but I think it needs to be about 1/2". I've made the changes to the file but will need to take the part into the shop to file it down to to get it to fit perfectly and I'll report back with the measurements and updated file.
I just wanted to post the file here so you all can make your own cup holders.
Just follow this link and you can download the SolidWorks file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/1bsugtokqk9cmhh/93_XJ_Cupholder.SLDPRT

-Spike

Brasscatz
01-23-2014, 07:25 PM
pretty neat! I'm eager to see pics of this thing

Spike3
01-23-2014, 07:29 PM
pretty neat! I'm eager to see pics of this thing

The white plastic is the cup holder itself. The black plastic is the "scaffolding" needed for printing. I had to chip it off but there is still some on the faces that I can't take off so I'm going to dip it in a special liquid that dissolves the black plastic.
By the way, one holder is 3" diameter, the other is 4". It's very easy to configure the file to meet your own sizes.

XJ Wheeler
01-23-2014, 07:46 PM
That's pretty cool. And came out nice too.

I would absolutely love to have a 3d printer, and the knowledge of using it too of course. But i figure its literally endless the projects you could make.