PDA

View Full Version : In bit of a bind here...

ArmyGuy45
01-16-2014, 02:22 AM
So I am 31 days before I leave the Army and I have to ship out the Jeep before hand. My jeep has sprung a radiator leak. I cant seem to find the exact place of the leak but it looks like its the plastic end piece of the radiator next to the battery and it only leaks when under pressure. I know its not coming from the upper hose that connects to the radiator. So do you guys know of any stuff I can put in it to stop the leak? Ill fix it, actually plan to replace with a 3 core since its a 2001, when I get back to the states but for now I need a quick fix. I dunno if I order a new part if it will get here in time to Germany before I leave.

nickyg
01-16-2014, 02:30 AM
I'm no expert but I don't like that stop leak stuff you pour in you radiator. if it can plug up a leak just imagine what it'll do to all the little passages in the motor and heater core. Can you pull the radiator out and have it repaired? or get one from autozone?

ArmyGuy45
01-16-2014, 02:47 AM
I'm no expert but I don't like that stop leak stuff you pour in you radiator. if it can plug up a leak just imagine what it'll do to all the little passages in the motor and heater core. Can you pull the radiator out and have it repaired? or get one from autozone?

I am in Germany so I would have to order parts from the states and hope it gets here in time.

I dunno of any repair shops around here plus I think its the plastic cap on the end of the radiator that is broken and not the metal part.

This is what I would replace it with if we were stateside.

http://www.autopartswarehouse.com/sku/Jeep/Cherokee/CSF/Radiator/2001/CSF2671.html

jimmixj
01-16-2014, 06:41 AM
I've used a product called Alumaseal w good result but truth is when a plastic tanker goes there's not much you can do. May be worth a shot since it doesn't seem you have many choices here.

Brasscatz
01-16-2014, 06:50 AM