PDA

View Full Version : Tip request - winching

denverd1
01-07-2014, 09:55 AM
Wheeling BMRA a few weeks back, jeep died after dropping off a pretty big ledge. Was with a buddy who had a winch and so did I. Poked around to see if it was something simple and couldn't get it fired up. So out comes the recovery gear. This was my friend's first wheeling trip. We were having a blast! Rest of the group called it a day, we decided to hit one more trail.

So we start lining things up to pull me out. We did a couple of things wrong: pulled the cable first and hooked up to me. then we decided to reposition his rig. Backing up the two ledges I just came down. He gunned it. If I was standing about 2 feet forward, I would've had a broken leg - at least. yanked my rig back about three feet and popped the piss out of cable - didn't break it, just tightened it up in a split second. I got away with a love tap on the hand that still hurts a bit.

SO! I've been wheeling for a couple years now and really never needed to pull or get pulled out. I thought it would be a good thing for Steve to discuss in an upcoming Jeep tips segment. Proper, safe winching. The forces involved can be pretty significant and our safety should always be top priority! I learned that first! you position the winching rig WAY before you pull the cable. and i'm sure there are other things that are important that I'd rather not learn the hard way. Do you know how to winch yourself out backwards? Couple of d rings and snatch blocks are all ya need! (saw a vid of it the other day). Maybe Steve can share some safe winching tips with the group on the XJ Talkshow Podcast?

Tony and Josh, keep rockin fellas! :bacondance:
:xjtalk:

mudslut
01-07-2014, 10:08 AM
good idea..... tow straps- winch blocks- winches- and all.......cool stuff that can kill u

4.3LXJ
01-07-2014, 10:11 AM
We had one back in the dark ages on winching, but we can do it again. I will make one up and Tony can work it in.

Firemanray