PDA

View Full Version : My first XJ, two problems...

tinomolloy
09-30-2009, 11:17 PM
I recently bought a '92 XJ for a good deal assuming there would be little problems here and there. I'm a little new to this and have two problems/questions.

First,
When in 4WD Hi or Lo, I turn sharply and there is some kind of knocking or rubbing that is very obvious. It shakes the entire car and I can feel it through the steering as it visible moves the steering wheel. It doesn't happen in 2WD and doesn't happen when going straight. The Jeep came with 30x9.5 on a stock lift. I originally thought it was tires rubbing somewhere but I've done a little research and keep seeing the possibility that it's the u-joints.

Second,
My parking brake doesn't hold. It's an auto so putting it in Park is ok but not great when on steep hills. The parking brake grips a little, but not enough as it rolls when in neutral. I went under the car and tightened the adjustment nut as tight as it goes. When I jacked up the car and spun the wheels, I noticed the brakes were sticking a little. Even with the park brake overtightened like this, it still wouldnt hold when on a hill. My only guess is my rear drum brakes are completely shot and need replacement.

Thanks for the help,

TIM

AJ99
10-01-2009, 01:14 AM
As for the ebrake thing have you inspected the rear brakes? Take the tire off and the drum off and check the brakes. My bet would be that they are worn like Heck.

For the other part have someone steer it while you are outside of the vehicle and try to pin point if it is coming from there... if not take off your drive line and put it in 4wd and see if it still makes it...

Mudderoy
10-01-2009, 01:32 AM
I recently bought a '92 XJ for a good deal assuming there would be little problems here and there. I'm a little new to this and have two problems/questions.

First,