PDA

View Full Version : My $400 '95 XJ

jdel
10-15-2012, 06:04 PM
Hello all,

This is the beginning of what will hopefully turn out to be an interesting build. I was put in a position to pick this Jeep up for really cheap, and I had no idea that it was in the condition that it is in.

I want everyone to keep in mind that I'm a car guy, but when I say that, I literally mean cars (and bikes)... for example:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7214/7180710249_c586671760.jpg

That's my car and bike. I have very little experience (if you want to call it that) with any type of off-roading, wheeling or anything of the sort so bear with me as I may ask a ton of questions if you provide me any feedback.

All that being said, here's what I'm looking at to start with:

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8470/8091895080_eec59405ec.jpg

It's a 95 Cherokee Sport with something like 280000 miles on it. 4.0L HO engine, I believe the AW4 Auto trans, Dana 30 front and I have no idea about the rear. Sorry for the crappy picture, but it was raining all day today and I was busy working on the interior. The plan as of right now is a 4.5" lift and some different wheels/tires. I have no idea how I'm going to about doing any of it, and that has created both a feeling of anxiousness and a feeling of being lost because I know nothing about this vehicle. I honestly don't even know where to start so the first few posts will probably be just me posting pictures of stuff I have to fix from the previous owner. I am using this forum and a few others for a lot of my information and have already done quite a bit of crawling to figure things out and have an idea of how to move forward with this project.

XJ Wheeler
10-15-2012, 07:53 PM
Hey Justin, congrats on the score!