PDA

View Full Version : Is this too much lift

AJ99
07-26-2009, 02:52 PM
Ok i have the RE 4.5 in lift. I just got some 2 in spacers to go on too. I put them on and i think i may end up having to get a drop pitman arm. Also for the extra two inches am i going to have to get different LCAs? I have aftermarket ones.

I drove it yesterday and got a weird vibration from the front end along with a metal rubbing sound that sounds like my brakes which it could be since i got towed home about 25 miles down a dirt trail in the mountains. I havent checked them though.

I will take some pics of my angle on my steering so you all can see it

kmanxj
07-26-2009, 02:53 PM
adjustable arms orrrr?????? and i am at 6.5. If they arent adjustable arms, get some DB's you wont ever regret it!!!

N1TZU
07-26-2009, 05:10 PM
Hi AJ99, I'm no expert at this jeep modding stuff,but when lifting a jeep beyond 3 to 4"s it will change the wheel base and the drive shaft angles-and tie rod angle.With the research I did before doing my lift I found drop brackets are an option or Adjustable LCA and UCA were a must to make wheel base correct. Then when I got the lift done,about 6"s,I had a noise/vibration in the front driveshaft.Having the adjustables gave me the ability to adjust the pinion angle to stop the noise/vibration without compromizing the caster angle.Caster angle is very important for good handling.The noise may have been the drive shaft.Best of luck on your build and hope you get it all worked out.........

muddeprived
07-27-2009, 08:52 AM
Ok i have the RE 4.5 in lift. I just got some 2 in spacers to go on too. I put them on and i think i may end up having to get a drop pitman arm. Also for the extra two inches am i going to have to get different LCAs? I have aftermarket ones.